Reviews

Reviews

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a lovely stay at Paul and Sue’s lodge. Lovely walks in the woods and on the beaches, our dogs were worn out every night. There were nice places to visit, nice places to eat and the pool is great. I would definitely recommend the lodge and you couldn’t ask for better hosts. Thank you Paul and Sue. Marie (June 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: What an absolutely wonderful week we had staying at Woodside Lodge. For us, everything was 5 stars ... the hosts, the lodge, the location, the pool. We cant thank our hosts enough for making our first trip to the IoW truly memorable. We'll be back!! Mark (June 2024)​​​​

  • Both Lodges: Our family rented both lodges over May half term. The lodges were well set out, very clean and contained everything we needed. Our hosts were friendly and helpful but never intrusive. The biggest plus was the pool which was well used by us all, the photo's do not do it justice. The BBQ area, pond and beautiful garden were perfect.
    If taking children there is a riding stable just around the corner that does pony walks (book early). But ours preferred the pool to all the attractions, if the kids are happy in the pool the adults get a relaxing holiday. Would definitely return. Angela (May 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: A unique place. Close to a nature reserve, but also near to the town and places to visit. The pool is so warm and has a changing area. The owners helped me with my luggage when I arrived and when I left. At hand for any help. I couldn't have asked for more. Denise (April 2024)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Amazing place and brilliant hosts. We stayed three days in Monktonmead, one of the two cottages. Communication with Sue prior to our arrival was spot on and her help with Ferry travel was very much appreciated.
    The accommodation was spotlessly clean as was the pool. The garden with fish pond was lovely. We spotted the red squirrels each day along with woodpeckers, Jays and numerous other birds.
    We were met on our arrival by Sue and Paul who showed us to the lodge and were on hand if needed. They were so friendly.
    If we return to the Island we wouldn’t stay anywhere else and would happily recommend to friends and family. Ken (April 2024)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Monktonmead was lovely and comfortable, and had everything we needed. The garden is beautiful, peaceful and tranquil. We loved sitting out enjoying the sounds of nature!! It was so great having the pool, we used it every day, and the inflatables were a great bonus for the kids. Paul and Sue were great hosts and really welcoming and helpful. We would love to come back soon and would really recommend it. Chloe (April 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a wonderful time. Our hosts were very welcoming and immediately settled us in. Our daughter had a great time chatting to Paul about the fish and the swimming pool. It was a beautiful location to wake up every morning and explore the island. Tamsin (April 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a remarkable stay. Everything was perfect, the cottage, garden, pool. And Paul and Susan's hospitality and availability were perfect. The setting is idyllic. I would recommend it in a second. Philippe (April 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: We really enjoyed our short stay at Woodside Lodge. The lodge was very clean, well equipped and in a beautiful garden setting. We particularly loved seeing the red squirrels. Sue and Paul are super hosts; great communication throughout the booking process/prior to arrival and very welcoming. Our children loved the pool, especially with the added bonus of the inflatables! We will definitely be returning. Thank you Sue and Paul. Thomas (March 2024)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had a great time at Arethusa Cottage. Beautiful garden, friendly hosts and we all enjoyed the pool. Close to attractions, highly recommended! Andrea (March 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Paul and Sue are great hosts. The house and surroundings are so peaceful. The garden, pond and swimming pool are really well kept. They were great at responding to any questions and their recommendations were spot on. We were a family of 4, two young children and a puppy and we felt right at home. Now our youngest keeps asking why we don’t have a pool ☺️ We’ll be back! Thank you so much. Sarah (March 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Sue and Paul are wonderful hosts. We booked a few days before arrival and they responded quickly to queries we had and happily sorted out the ferry for us. Sue and Paul met us on arrival and showed us around the property and grounds, they gave us needed instructions for pool and gates before handing us the key to settle in. They provide a link on their website of local restaurants which certainly didn’t disappoint. Once again thank you both for the accommodation you provide we had a wonderful first holiday on the Isle of Wight and hope to return again. Jasmine (March 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: My daughter and I had a great stay, just a couple of nights to get away from normal routine, and it did just that ! The place was tucked away off the beaten track but easy to get to. Very clean and tidy, everything you need, the swimming pool is an added bonus, it is kept very clean & well maintained. Paul and Sue were very welcoming and made you feel at home. Gracie their dog was very patient with my daughters, two-year-old cockapoo Connie, who was very excited to meet her. I would definitely recommend this little place. ☺️ thank you for having us. Angela (March 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Very nice and secluded place to say. Pool was really awesome especially as we had it to ourselves. Place was really clean and comfy. We had a great stay. Becky (March 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: We loved our stay at Woodside lodge. In fact we were blown away by just how special it was. It was a perfect place to stay for 3 nights (or much longer!) with a toddler. The lodge was spacious enough for the 3 of us with lovely views out to the nature and garden around with everything we needed for cooking and being comfortable. The pool was such a treat (love the inflatables!) and we were pleased to fit in 3 dips. It is perfectly doable as a no car holiday with an excellent bike hire in town (highly recommended) and good train and bus services around and Ryde in walking distance. Thanks so much Paul and Sue! Sarah (February 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Wow, we were truly spoilt once again with this view (red squirrel on feeder!) from our window. What an amazing place to stay. Everything you need to make a perfect week away. Highly recommended and so welcoming. Thank you so much to Sue and Paul for another great break. Fiona (February 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Sue and Paul are fantastic hosts; they are great with their communication especially around location hints and tips. They were flexible coming to greet us when we arrived unexpectedly early. Spent the time going through all the cottage and the outside space. We fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived. Amazing facilities and beautifully decorated. The swimming pool was fantastic; great size and amenities. The whole setup was also complimentary to us bringing our dog including a box dedicated to treats, toys and dog friendly places on the island. We can’t wait for our next visit! Emily (January 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: Me and my family and the two dogs had the best stay and really enjoyed the surroundings and the garden. The Pool was a massive bonus. My daughter absolutely loved it. The accommodation itself was stunning, warm, had everything you needed and more and it was very welcoming. The dogs had a great time will be definitely coming back soon. Stephanie (January 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: A really restful weekend with red squirrels in the garden and wonderful proximity to Ryde. Super friendly hosts, thanks so much. Katherine (January 2024)

  • Woodside Lodge: What a lovely couple of nights we have had here! The accommodation is beautiful, in a lovely quiet and private setting. It was clean, comfortable and the hosts were very friendly and helpful throughout! The pool was a really lovely additional touch and our son loved it! Would definitely recommend and stay again! Melissa (November 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We have just stayed here with our two boys and Dog Bella. The lodge was clean, well equipped, warm and cosy. Paul and Sue were the perfect hosts. We arrived late at night and in the rain but they met us and showed us around. The lodge is in a quiet position but close enough to Ryde. The pool was an excellent addition to our holiday especially on soggy days and after our days out. The garden was spacious and safe for our dog to have run and there are lovely nature reserve walks close by. The weather was very wet but we managed to get out to local areas such as Shanklin, Arreton, Sandown, Fishbourne, Cowes and Ryde. There is so much to do and explore. We hope to come again thank you for a lovely week xx Adrian (October 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Very clean and cosy lodge with friendly hosts. Our dogs were made very welcome! Beautiful well kept garden with indoor swimming pool open to guests. Setting on the edge of Ryde with quick and easy access to both shops and countryside. Would highly recommend. Sara (October 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We have been holidaying on the isle of wight for the last 10 years and this is our first time with Sue and Paul at Arethusa cottage lodges. This honestly is the best holiday we have had on the island.
    We stayed in woodside lodge and it was brilliant, spotlessly clean and had everything anyone could wish for.
    The owners Sue and Paul are friendly and welcoming and happily showed us to our lodge, ensuring we had everything we needed. We were so sad to leave the island this year because it had been such a wonderful place to stay and will certainly be returning. Dorothy (August 2023)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Arethusa is just beautiful, so peaceful and relaxing. This was our 4th visit, our first with the lovely new owners Sue & Paul who are great hosts, happy to help & lovely to chat to! Our children absolutely love the penguin pool, many happy memories made here! The lodge is very clean & well equipped, comfy beds and plenty of space. The children enjoyed sleeping in the quirky loft space. The outside decking area is perfect with BBQ to use, plenty of space to enjoy a meal or play games together. And the gardens are just so pretty! Highly recommend. Kate (August 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a wonderful holiday at Woodside. The beautiful gardens are an absolute pleasure to spend time in. The kids loved the pool and watching the fish. Sue and Paul are great hosts! Thankyou! X Jo (August 2023)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: 5 *- Just excellent, from the hosts themselves to the accommodation, the location, the pool, it was all great. My family and I really enjoyed staying at Arethusa Cottage and will return. Would give 6 stars if I could. Dale (July 2023)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Having holidayed in the Isle of Wight for the past 20+ years staying at various hotels & BB’s, Monktonmead Lodge is by far the top of our list. The beautiful little gem tucked away near a nature reserve was the perfect location for my 84 year young mum, granddaughter 7months & daughter 19 years. Tranquil & magical setting with an indoor heated pool with changing area & WC (inflatables provided). The koi pond had seating areas to unwind and relax. Perfect hosts Sue & Paul were very welcoming & friendly. The lodge itself wanted for nothing excellent facilities & Sue & Paul had thought about all the little home from home comforts. A cot & high chair were provided. BBQ on the decking. 1 week wasn’t enough to appreciate the many nature walks this little piece of paradise had to offer. We will definitely be back. Lisa (June 2023)

  • Both Lodges: I recently had the pleasure of embarking on a delightful 16-day vacation at Arethusa Cottage Holiday Lodges with my friend and her family, and we couldn't be more pleased with our experience. Paul and Sue, the owners and Gracie their lovely dog made us feel incredibly welcome from the moment we arrived. We had the pleasure of staying in two unique self-catering lodges, Monktonmead and Woodside, each offering its own charm and comfort. For our stay, my friend and I chose the cozy Woodside Lodge. I had the pleasure of sleeping on the comfortable corner sofa bed in the sitting room, while my friend stayed in the inviting double room. The lodge featured a spacious kitchen equipped with all the necessary amenities for a self-catered trip, including a washing machine. The contemporary wet room, although lacking a bathtub, was clean and functional. One of our favourite features was the gated, private deck area complete with a gas barbecue, perfect for enjoying outdoor meals and relaxation. Her parents stayed in the Monktonmead lodge, which boasted three bedrooms capable of accommodating up to six people. The lodge included a double room, a room with adult-sized bunk beds, and a loft area with two floor-level beds. The open living area and extended kitchen, also equipped with a washing machine, supplied ample space for family gatherings. The bathroom featured a convenient shower cubicle, and although a bathtub was absent, it didn't hinder our enjoyment. Monktonmead, just like Woodside, boasted a private decking area, complete with a barbecue. One of the highlights of our stay was the family-friendly pool, which was the perfect size for everyone to enjoy. The pool house conveniently housed a changing room and a toilet, adding to the convenience. The pool kept plenty of heat during the day, allowing us to dry our clothes easily while having a splash. The presence of pool toys added an extra element of fun, ensuring that everyone, young and old, had a fantastic time. Arethusa Cottage's location within Pig Leg Lane nature reserve was a true gift. The serene natural surroundings, consisting of meadows and woodlands, offered picturesque walking paths and resting points to fully appreciate the area's beauty. We were fortunate to see a variety of wildlife right in the cottage gardens, including red squirrels, Jays, and the occasional heron. It was a such a wonderful experience being so close to nature. A tranquil pond can be found in the gardens, making it the perfect place to gather with everyone for drinks in the evening or in the morning for a coffee whilst listening to the water. When the evening comes a lovely atmosphere is produced by the twinkling lights that adorn the pond and bridge. You can see the beautiful sight of colourful carp swimming beautifully throughout the day. When we visited The Cottage in July, Paul and Sue's beautifully maintained gardens were in bloom with more flowers blossoming each day. In terms of location, Arethusa Cottage proved to be just over a mile away from Ryde Esplanade and within a 25-minute walk to the town centre (should you wish to go by foot), we had easy access to various amenities and attractions. Whether we wanted to explore the local shops or take a leisurely stroll along the esplanade, everything was within reach. In summary, our 16-day stay at Arethusa Cottage Holiday Lodges was nothing short of fantastic. The comfortable lodges, friendly and accommodating hosts, family-friendly pool, and the beautiful natural surroundings made for an unforgettable vacation. We wholeheartedly recommend Arethusa Cottage to families and friends looking for a friendly and relaxing getaway. Thank you, Paul and Sue, for providing such a warm and welcoming environment. We all look forward to seeing you again next year for another memorable stay. Christopher (June 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We absolutely loved our stay at Arethusa Cottage Holiday Lodges. The hosts were really welcoming and lovely. The lodge had everything we needed and more and was really comfortable and relaxing. In addition the pool exceeded our expectations and the garden and pond are so beautiful. We would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing stay with the family. Thanks Sue and Paul Javier (May 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Wonderful hosts, Sue & Paul couldn't do enough. Never intrusive but there if you needed them. Lodge spotless & very comfortable with everything you need plus more! Gardens beautiful, especially the pond (magical) & the pool was the cherry on top. Area fab for walking, right on the doorstep so no need to drive anywhere. Very dog friendly. Very peaceful with only the sound of birds. Also seen a few red squirrels in the garden! Will definitely return & would recommend to anyone. Carole (April 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Incredible place, nicely tucked away but easily could walk into the the town if needed. Fantastic hosts always ready to answer any questions. Will be passing on their details to family and friends to stay with them. Paddy (April 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Enjoyed our stay, comfortable and spotlessly clean lodge with a really beautiful garden, friendly hosts. The pool and the pool room were really warm, perfect place to relax and swim and read books on a cold wet day. Quiet private location. We enjoyed evening walks into Ryde (around 15-20 mins) and found a couple of really nice places to eat. Nick (March 2023)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: The owners of this property were welcoming and very friendly. They could not do enough for us. The property itself was very clean and the facilities were excellent. The indoor pool was a really nice addition to the facilities. We would definitely book again and are already looking at a return date. A great place to stay with really nice owners. John (March 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Really enjoyed our stay! Paul and Sue were really friendly and very respectful! The properties are beautiful to chill out and we enjoyed the dip in the warm pool which is on site! The lodge and gardens exceeded what we had in mind from viewing the pictures which was an added bonus. Overall we cannot recommed enough, either for couples like us or small families, and of course dogs! Katarina (March 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: An isolated and beautiful spot, yet within minutes drive of the town. Accommodation was superb and set in lovely gardens. This was better than the description suggested and the hosts were very friendly and attentive. Gordon (February 2023)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Lovely setting and very comfortable. Hosts have thought of all the small touches (hooks for coats /shoe rack) and everything was clean and well kept. Pool was excellent - just the right temperature. Red squirrel & many birds spotted in the garden. We will be back. Mike (February 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a great few days away. Lovely place to stay. Thank you, we will be returning.x Lee (February 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: Wow absolutely loved 🥰 this place , 💯 will be back again . So accommodating and “Betty” my dog 🐶 absolutely had a fabulous holiday x Hosts were absolutely fantastic x Sarah (January 2023)

  • Woodside Lodge: We thoroughly enjoyed the lodge and the pool and everything was very clean and well looked after, lodge had everything we needed. Had a lovely time but felt it was a bit far from the beach and attractions unless you used your car. We had terrible weather but it looked like the surrounding walks & gardens would be great in the summer. Sue & Paul were lovely and very helpful and Gracie (their dog) was a sweetheart. Trish and Jim (December 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Set in a very peaceful location, only a short drive/walk to shops and seafront, Woodside Lodge offers everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The lodge itself is perfect with all facilities for a self catering break. In addition the indoor heated swimming pool is fabulous which includes a changing room and WC. There is a lovely fish pond at the bottom of the garden with lovely seating area. This is our third visit to Arethusa Cottage and would definitely recommend. Hosts Sue and Paul are very welcoming/friendly and keep the lodges/grounds immaculate. Sue & Kev (December 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We’ve just come back from a wonderful weekend and honestly we could have stayed forever. The location is so tranquil with lovely walks right on your doorstep which worked perfectly for walking out dog each day. The basket full of dog treats was a thoughtful addition too. The garden is truly magical, especially at night, I only wish the weather had allowed us to enjoy it more. The pool was a big hit with our little one, a rare treat to find on an air bnb property. We wouldn’t hesitate to book again, in fact I was searching their availability for next year on our very first night! Thank you again for a wonderful stay. Carrie (November 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: I had a wonderful few days staying at Woodside Lodge. Paul and Sue were considerate, helpful, friendly hosts and I felt welcomed and immediately at home. Woodside Lodge was comfortable and very clean with all I could need for my stay. The garden is beautiful with a tranquil fish pond to retreat to and meditate by. There is also a private swimming pool which was wonderful. Arethusa Cottage is well situated to explore the island from. I walked miles every day and found some truly beautiful places. As a lone traveler I would highly recommend staying in this beautiful place with Paul and Sue as hosts. I could not have wanted for more. Cathy (October 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had a great stay at Monkonmead Lodge in half term. Sue and Paul were extremely friendly and accommodating. The lodge was perfect with everything we needed, and really cosy. The pool was fantastic and fully kitted out for the children with inflatables and toys. We spotted woodpeckers and red squirrels in the garden, and relaxed by the fairy lit koi pond at night. A thoroughly enjoyable stay, and would love to go back! Jose (October 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a wonderful 6 days at Woodside, a charming and well-equipped lodge in the most wonderful location. Our hosts, Sue and Paul, were welcoming and knowledgable and Gracie (their rescue dog) was just lovely. The garden areas are so pretty and the swimming pool very inviting. We cannot wait to come back and would highly recommend Arethusa. Val (October 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Monktonmead was a great place for my kids - they had a blast. It’s well located, there’s an indoor pool, and with the eaves and bunk bed, there’s lots of climbing up and down in Monktonmead itself! The rooms were clean, a travel cot was kindly provided, the instructions for heating/lights were easy to understand and the indoor pool with inflatables is an excellent bonus. Would love to come back again. Cinde (October 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Peaceful oasis. The little touches made it a home from home with all sorts of essential items there on arrival, ie milk, coffee, tea etc even treats for the dog! Swimming pool and garden areas were amazing. Sue and Paul made us feel so welcome and we would highly recommend this accommodation for a great place to stay on the Island. Janet (October 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: My partner and our little girl had a lovely stay with Sue and Paul. They were very accommodating and friendly. Our cabin was well presented and cosy. The garden was beautiful and relaxing and the swimming pool was the cherry on the cake. Such a lovely stay at a peaceful retreat on the outskirts of Ryde. Couldn’t have asked for more and we will be sure to return. We even got to see some red squirrels in the garden a few times - just to top it off! Jake (September 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Good experience for a weekend getaway. Enjoyed the privacy and especially as it's away from the hustle of the city. Accommodation is very clean. Good wifi reception. All basic essentials needed provided. It’s definitely a come back! 10/10 Bryan (September 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Have you seen the film, Misery? The main character in the film, Paul Sheldon, is an author that enjoys the solitude of a log cabin to finish his books. Peace, quiet and nature. But be assured, his number one fan, Annie Wilkes, is not in residence. Now I’m not suggesting that we were isolated, but at Arethusa Cottage (named after HMS Arethusa, a Crimean warship) peace, quiet and the sound of falling acorns (maybe hazelnuts too) hitting various outdoor structures were the norm. Sightings of red squirrels and an abundance of birds were viewable from the decking area as well as the lodge itself. Bats may also be seen as dusk greets the day’s end.

    We were greeted warmly on arrival by Sue, and Paul a little later, who promptly showed us around our lodge for the week. Clean, comfortable and presented well, this holiday let had everything we needed for our stay…and then some. The garden area is great. Well-manicured lawns overlooked by trees and shrubs invite you to explore further. At the bottom of the garden, there is another area, quite magical at night, that may contain fairies. Or even faeries. Let your imagination decide.

    And then, there is the swimming pool. A heated, indoor, swimming pool. I’m not the fittest of people (my jogging days are now a fading memory) but gentle exercise of this nature is a welcome start to the day. That is, when the smell of bacon cooking didn’t discourage me. Shared by only one other lodge, pool time can be enjoyed pretty much whenever you feel like it. Later in the week, we had the pleasure of meeting Gracie. Gracie likes to bound around and sniff things. Of course, Gracie is the family dog. I believe she is from Romania but I might have misheard the country of origin. Okay. So what did we take away from this experience? The owners are genuinely warm, welcoming people who could not have been more friendly. The lodge fitted our needs entirely without compromise. The location is down a private lane with no through traffic so there was plenty of quiet time, perfect for sitting outside, closing your eyes and listening to the local wildlife chirping, chattering and squabbling over food and territory. If we come back to the island in the future, without hesitation, we will be booking the same place again. We enjoyed our stay here. Darren (September 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We stayed in Woodside lodge this past week. What a beautiful oasis of calm! Sue and Paul are excellent hosts and really care. The lodge has everything you need, plus a few extra touches. The indoor pool is great too! They have loads of lights and fairy lights so sitting outside on an evening is wonderful. It’s so well thought out! So easy to get to many places on the island too either by foot or car. Well recommended. Lydia (September 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: My family and I stayed in Monktonmead in August 2022. We were extremely fortunate that the other lodge was occupied by a relation of the hosts, meaning we had full run of the gardens and exclusive use of the pool for the whole week. We had the most amazing time, Paul and Sue could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. They let our children feed the fish with them, chatted about the wildlife and gave tips on where to visit and what to do, but gave us space and privacy to enjoy our first family holiday since covid. The Isle Of Wight is such a beautiful holiday location, and we could have easily spent a month there without doing everything we wanted to! We will be back, hopefully with friends in the other lodge for a bigger group holiday next year, the pool is stunning and I can't think of a better holiday I've ever had in the UK! Nikki (August 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We have just returned from a wonderful week spent at Monktonmead Lodge, this was a third visit, but first for a week and it was amazing. Paul and Sue are the perfect hosts, friendly, approachable and were absolutely fabulous with our children, letting them play with the dog, feed the fish and answering any questions they had! The lodge itself is perfect, the new kitchen is such an asset and the four of us were so comfortable, it is equipped with everything you need (and more!). The swimming pool is fantastic, clean and lots of floats and toys for the children to enjoy. Overall this place is an absolute gem and we have already booked our next trip! Thank you Sue and Paul for such a fabulous family holiday 🙂 Danielle (July 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We have just completed a wonderful week at Woodside Lodge with our dog. Perfect location for dog walking in the surrounding woods or on Appley beach. Horse riding is just 15 mins walk away and a dip in the fantastic pool to start or end the day is such a bonus when the weather has been so good. We found the hosts engaging and always helpful. They excellently balance hosting with acknowledging your personal privacy. We stayed a couple of days last year on an island tour and increased to a week this year. We booked up 2 full weeks for next year already. Says it all! Great value both of us and dog already looking forward to next year! Russ (July 2022)

  • Both Lodges: This was our 3rd visit to Arethusa Cottage and we had another outstanding holiday. The accommodation is clean and well equipped and the lovely gardens are beautifully kept. It’s so tranquil; perfect for a proper restful break with some fun injected by a few hours spent in the wonderful swimming pool and a bbq on the deck. We really couldn’t wish for more. Adults and kids were all so sorry to leave!
    Thanks so much to Sue and Paul for being thoughtful and accommodating hosts and keeping such a wonderful property! Until next year! Bethan (July 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: A gorgeous, well equipped cabin set in a beautifully maintained garden which was peaceful, secluded and full of nature. Plus an indoor heated swimming pool. Couldn't ask for more. Sue , Paul John and Gracie were the perfect hosts. We will be back. John (June 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had such a fantastic stay at Arethusa Cottages, we used Monktonmead Lodge, the grounds and accommodation were spotless, the grounds beautiful, a little bit of paradise. Set on the edge of a nature reserve there were many footpaths and bridle paths right outside the gate, these were a bonus. Central location of Ryde makes it an ideal base for the rest of the Island. 15 minutes walk through the nature reserve brings you to the top of Ryde, so no need to take the car. Many thanks to Sue and Paul (the owners) fantastic hosts, nothing was too much for them. Loved Gracie's welcome when we came back from being out. Will be booking again. Ruth (June 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: On arrival we met Sue & Paul our hosts, check in was straightforward and easy, we were shown everything, lovely chalet style lodge within perfectly manicured and beautiful gardens ... with a hint of wild. We even saw a red squirrel! Everything was well appointed, clean and everything was there we needed! We had our own enclosed decking area, which was perfect for us as we had our dogs with us! There is a nature reserve right outside the door, which suited us perfectly for early morning and evening walks. Dog friendly beaches a short drive away (Yaverland, Bembridge, Appley), plus a huge Tesco if you needed supplies! The swimming pool was spotless and warm, a great addition to our stay! We relaxed and just did nothing, apart from venture out to different beaches! We used the Ryde Tandoori for a takeaway which was lovely! Sue and Paul have a lovely little dog called Gracie, she is super friendly and loved meeting us and our dogs too! Great stay, for couples or families as the other lodge opposite sleeps 6 - while we stayed there was a hen party and they were lovely too! The Red Funnel Ferry port is 15-20 mins away, Red Funnel was great, they let us board early as we nipped across to west wittering in Chichester on our way home - which is amazing for the dogs too! We will definitely return and have already recommended to many friends and family. Thanks Sue & Paul (and Gracie). Julie (May 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had an amazingly relaxed time at Arethusa Cottage (Woodside Lodge). Absolutely everything it promises to be. Quiet and peaceful, private indoor pool is perfect and close enough to Ryde to walk to. Lots of lovely restaurants and easy drive to everything you need across the Isle of Wight. Would definately recommend it and I am sure that we will be back! Anna (April 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had a lovely stay. The lodge was clean, tidy and had everything we needed. It was quite tucked away but the location in Ryde was great and easy to get to places. The fact there was a swimming pool to use was brilliant, our daughter loved it! The garden was beautiful too. We would definitely go back! Fiona (May 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We were a party of 6 adult females and had a weekend away at this absolutely stunning place (for a grown up, chilled out hen do ). We all live nearby on the Island but chose here as it was so perfect . It was a great base to use as we did all different activities around the island. I also love the history of the place. Sue and Paul were fantastic hosts and keep the place so spotless and serene. The gardens are stunning, the cabins are absolutely spot on and the pool is an absolute bonus. You could literally be anywhere and lose yourself. We have all said that we definitely hope to return. Have already recommended to family and friends on the Island and afar. Many thanks Sue & Paul. Jane (May 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: A thoroughly enjoyable stay over the Easter weekend. The property was clean, well appointed and felt spacious for our group of four. The pool was a game changer and Sue and Paul were incredibly helpful with recommendations for local eating etc. My only complaint is that we wanted to see more of their lovely dog! James (April 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We really enjoyed our short stay in the lodge. Everything was very tidy and clean. Amazing swimming pool! Thank you so much Sue and Paul for giving us such a wonderful and relaxing break. We highly recommend this place. Hope to return some time soon. Magda (April 2022)

  • Both Lodges: We rented both the lodges for a family holiday and big birthday celebrations. We had a ball. It was so peaceful. We all loved the pool. The lodges were great, lovely and clean. We had five adults in Monketonmead, the two up in the loft were fine. For me the highlight was the red squirrels. I’m in love and got up at 6.30am every day to make sure that I got to see them and the woodpeckers. Teresa (April 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Very helpful owners. Very clean and tidy lodge. Tea, coffee, dog treats & milk left by the owners for us. Highly recommend to family and friends. Stuart (March 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: A wonderful quiet lodge set in a nature reserve with so many different birds and red squirrels. It gave us sisters time to reflect and enjoy our time together. Thanks to our hosts Sue and Paul for the lovely garden, pool and lodge. Jo (March 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: We have just come back from a very relaxing, peaceful stay at Woodside Lodge. It was so nice to see the different types of birds out of the windown and also an appearance of a red squirrel. Nice grounds, a large Koi pond and heated swimming pool. Really was a calming stay. Mark (March 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Such a lovely place , so peaceful and beautiful, the lodges are really nice, so cosy, and the pool
    Is fantastic, can not wait to go back. Nav (February 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Woodside Lodge is a perfect place to get away to, we've had a fabulous weekend. The lodge is spotlessly clean, extremely well equipped and soooo peaceful. Having a heated pool available was a real treat too. The garden setting is really relaxing, just sit back, watch the red squirrels and all the birds, before going on one of the many beautiful local walks, through the nature reserve or down to the beach. Sue and Paul are the perfect hosts, we will definitely be visiting again. Angela (February 2022)

  • Both Lodges: OMG amazing staycation experience. Perfect getaway with everything you need right on your doorstep, plus a pool! Hosts were lovely and accommodating too. Abbie (January 2022)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Fantastic lodge. Sue and Paul were so welcoming. The lodge had everything we needed and the kids absolutely loved the use of the heated indoor pool. Highly recommend. Alison (February 2022)

  • Both Lodges: Absolutely stunning setting next to a nature reserve. The lodges are beautiful inside and out and the attention to detail in the garden is outstanding. The hosts are lovely and we even saw a partially melanistic red squirrel! I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a peaceful, relaxing location with amazing walks literally on the doorstep. Lynsey (January 2022)

  • Both Lodges: Not long back from a relaxing 3 night stay at both Woodside and Monktonmead lodges. The lodges are comfortable, clean and well equipped. The heated indoor pool is an amazing addition and because we booked both Lodges we had it all to ourselves! The gardens are really nice and relaxing with lots of nature and also a pond area with lots of fish. Sue and Paul are great hosts and we will be looking to book again in future. Daryl (January 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Just back from Woodside Lodge at Arethusa Cottage. A beautiful, tranquil, woodland setting teeming with wildlife. Very comfortable, clean and warm lodge. Swimming in the heated indoor pool was the icing on the cake! The perfect winter break. Thank you Sue and Paul. We will be returning. Fiona (January 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Arethusa cottage has two beautiful lodges, set in secluded gardens with an abundance of wildlife, and a heated indoor pool. We stayed in Woodside lodge for a week and it was just perfect. Comfortably furnished and very well equipped for a self catering stay. Paul and Sue were the perfect hosts and their hospitality and kindness shone through from the first time we made contact. The location feels very peaceful and rural but you are just a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk from central Ryde with all its amenities. We would highly reccomend Arethusa Cottage Holiday lodges to anyone looking for an Isle of Wight holiday.Thank you Sue and Paul, we cant wait to return. Julie (January 2022)

  • Woodside Lodge: Wonderful hidden gem…….stayed for a week in October. Sue and Paul thought of everything to make sure your stay is perfect, it’s like home from home. They even provided tea, coffee, milk and lovely local biscuits. The garden is beautiful and so peaceful. We would highly recommend here and will definitely return one day. Thank you for a lovely break Sue and Paul, just what we needed. Sue (October 2021)

  • Both Lodges: Absolutely amazing hosts and facilities. It was our daughters second visit. We will be back. Kevin (October 2021)

  • Both Lodges:
    We felt so welcome on our arrival to celebrate my 40th birthday. Not only was the booking system (direct) excellent but we also had everything as requested in our corresponding emails. The lodges are beautiful, well equipped and cosy. The location is ideal for dog walk/walks and local amenities should you need to walk/drive to the shops. Yet you feel like you're totally remote and 'on holiday'. The pool is lovely and clean. I highly recommend the property and can't thank the owners enough for a lovely stay. Fleur (October 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: What a wonderful weekend we had based at Monktonmead Lodge - Sue and Paul were such accommodating hosts, and the lodge itself was perfect - the kids were so excited to be staying in a “Wendy house” (their words, not ours!) and it more than lived up to expectation - such a well stocked cabin and the pool was such a huge added bonus and the cause of many lost hours! Thank you, looking forward to next time. Lucy (October 2021)

  • Both Lodges: Fantastic self catering lodges. Fabulous location, a hidden gem. Highly recommended for couples or families. Michelle, Andy, Leila and Tony (September 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We’ve just returned from a lovely week staying in Monktonmead Lodge. Sue & Paul are fantastic hosts and made us all feel very welcome. The lodge is well equipped with all you could need for a family holiday. The pool is fantastic and our children definitely made the most of it. We can’t wait to return next year 😀 Katie (August 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: Such a lovely week. The lodge had all we needed and the owners were exceptional. Friendly, helpful and it made for a wonderful week. Liz (August 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Paul and Sue are perfect hosts, children loved the pool, a relaxing and happy holiday! David (August 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: This chalet is down a little road, in a quiet garden. It has it own large pool. Everything was clean and in good condition, and the owners were brilliant. We would definitely return to explore the isle of Wight more. Clare (July 2021)

  • Both Lodges: We have just returned from an amazing week, everything was lovely, clean, comfortable and welcoming. Our little old dog was very happy there and having the pool during the heatwave week was a proper treat. We can absolutely recommend staying there. Eileen (July 2021)

  • Both Lodges: Our family stayed at Arethusa Holiday Cottages in July 2021. This was our second visit and it didn't disappoint! We had a really fantastic week and we all really enjoyed our stay. We occupied both lodges and both were spotlessly clean on arrival with excellent COVID-safe measures in place. The pool was a massive hit with our children who swam in it every day. Our hosts, Sue and Paul were very friendly and we very much enjoyed speaking to them over the week. They gave us some great recommendations and to top it all off, our dog really enjoyed playing with their dog too! We have no hesitation in recommending Arethusa Holiday Cottages (in fact, we've done it already!) - just brilliant! Kirsty (July 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: Lovely short stay. Lodge was clean and perfect for us and the dog. The location was fantastic within a beautiful garden with the swimming pool. The surrounding nature reserve was perfect for dog walking . All in all a top stay. Russ (July 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Everything was perfect, the owners went above and beyond expectations, just the perfect place to celebrate my daughters hen party! Thank you. Chrissie (June 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: It was very calming after covid; every thing connected to covid was adhered to even with the wonderful heated swimming pool. We would throughly recommend this for a peaceful break. Brenda (June 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Perfect location for a peaceful vacation and only a short walk into Ryde where there is a beautiful beach. Sue and Paul are very friendly and welcoming. The lodge we stayed in has everything you need for a very comfortable stay and was immaculate. The swimming pool/grounds are very clean and tidy and the wildlife is lovely to watch. Would definitely recommend and will return again. Thanks again for a very comfortable stay. Sue and Kev (June 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had a fantastic stay at Woodside Lodge. The hosts, Sue and Paul are very welcoming and helpful to ourselves and our 2 dogs. The Lodge is in a small nature reserve and it is hard to believe that it is only a couple of minutes to the centre of Ryde. The lodge was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with all the amenities you could need. You have the use of an excellent heated swimming pool and the gardens are fantastic. We will definitely be going back. Paul (May 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Communication was excellent from Sue and Paul. They were very welcoming. The accommodation was very clean and cosy. The swimming pool was amazing and we had a fantastic time relaxing in the pool area. 100% recommended. Looking forward to a return visit. Many thanks. Victoria (May 2021)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: A lovely location with amazing facilities. The kids loved the Pool. Sue and Paul were the perfect hosts. Friendly and a warm welcome. We will certainly return. Minesh (May 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: Peace and tranquility. A wonderful getaway .... great bird watching and red squirrels. Sylvia (April 2021)

  • Woodside Lodge: This was my first visit and I'll be sure to go back again. Sue and Paul are absolutely amazing. I went there for my partner's birthday and Sue helped me to prepare a surprise. I loved that the place was very quiet, well-maintained, with a beautiful pond and the private swimming pool was the cherry on the cake. Highly recommended! Ellie (December 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: Was a fantastic stay this past weekend. We had everything we needed and just a short distance from the centre of Ryde. The pool was great and the garden was lovely and peaceful. Owners Paul and Sue were very helpful and friendly and even picked us up from the ferry port. Overall it was a perfect stay and we will certainly consider going again in the summer. Thanks. Kieran (December 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: We were greeted by our lovely hosts Paul and Sue on arrival. Very helpful and welcoming. Set in a stunning location and well maintained. The lodge was like a home from home, very relaxing, clean and with all you need for a great holiday. The swimming pool is fantastic and well kept Great location to see any of the Isle of Wight. Would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you to our hosts. We will be returning next year. Julie (November 2020)

  • Both Lodges: We had a wonderful time. Both lodges were super clean, cosy, comfortable and equipped with everything needed. We had both lodges for our family and so the sole use of the fantastic pool. Garden around the lodges is so great and Sue and Paul so helpful and discreet at the same time. We had a faboulus time! Thank you. Claudia (October 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Arethusa Cottage lodges are the perfect holiday location for the changing times around us (COVID). We stayed in a beautifully clean self-catered wooden lodge that was comfortable, warm and was perfect for our toddling little 13month old. Paul and Sue are really friendly and very happy to accommodate our needs - buying a high chair for the lodge to save us bringing one. The wonderful swimming pool was literally several steps from the door to our lodge, arranging separate swimming times with the other guests was really simple to accommodate social distancing. Our little one loved it, splashing around for hours! The location is great, really easy to find and very close to all the great sights of the Isle of Wight. Located in a forest area you have lovely walks on your doorstep and a short walk to the beach in Ryde. We are definitely coming back next year!! Thank you so much! X Ben (October 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: Such a lovely place, with great hosts. Sue and Paul are kind and very helpful and can recommend some beautiful walks and cafes. Stayed in Woodside Lodge, everything you need for a comfy few nights or a weeks stay. Already booked for 2021. Debbie (October 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Lovely hosts, ideal location for exploring the island. Our little one loved the steam train ride (10 mins away). The lodge is in a private setting. The pool is great, gardens lovely. We had a very comfortable stay here - great value for money. Jade (October 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: This was our first visit to Arethusa Cottage, we travelled with our two dogs, we were all super excited. After a smooth crossing on Wightlink and a very short drive to our accommodation, we were impressed by the location, very secluded but not isolated, perfect place for us. We were all greeted warmly by owners Sue & Paul , this place is definitely doggie friendly. First thing you notice is the beautiful gardens , well kept by Sue & Paul , so many personal touches. You could feel the love in the place. A wow moment for me was the indoor pool, super clean and water warm and inviting. We spent a wonderful weekend in Woodside Lodge, WOW what a lovely place. Yes, it was spotlessly clean, yes, it had everything you could want but for me it was just charming, beautiful bedding and those little touches that really do make this whole place really something very special. We will definitely be back but for longer next time. Sue & Paul are thoughtful hosts going the extra mile to ensure your stay at Arethusa Cottage is amazing. Debbie (September 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: We have just had a fabulous weekend in Woodside Lodge thanks to Sue and Paul, the hosts. The whole place is a haven of peace and quiet with the two fantastic lodges, stunningly beautiful gardens and a fabulous private, indoor swimming pool. It is perfectly located on the edge of Ryde, close enough to walk to anywhere locally and yet in the middle of nowhere also having a nature reserve right next door. Everything is spotlessly clean and tidy with all you need in the lodges to enjoy your stay without any cares or worries. The gardens are beautiful and well looked after giving you the best start to your day, sitting out on your private patio overlooking the well tended lawns dotted with fruit trees, flowering bushes and colourful beds. Location couldn't be better with many stunning beaches, woodland walks, great pubs with tasty food and so many other places of interest I haven't got time to list them all. As already mentioned, this is a haven, set up perfectly to give you the relaxing rest we all need from time to time. Sue and Paul are fabulous hosts who look at their guests as friends not visitors and are ready with help, advice, information and any fixes the minute they are needed. We will definitely be back again... as soon as we can find a time when there is availability as the lodges are filling up... fast! Thank you Sue and Paul and see you again soon. Steve (September 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: If you're looking for a quiet relaxing getaway or something nearby local attractions then you can't go wrong with booking your stay at Arethusa Cottage near Ryde. The two lodges in the lovely grounds are comfortable clean and have all the amenities you could wish for including being dog friendly. There is also a heated indoor swimming pool for that extra bit of exercise or just lazing about and having fun in the water. We were blessed with warm sunny weather and couldn't fault the local tea shops, pubs and beautiful beaches for a walk. We were only there for two nights but felt like we had been away longer with all the fresh air and the beautiful nature reserve on the doorstep. Our stay was made all the more special by the friendliness and hospitality of Sue and Paul the owners. We'll definitely be back again. Roz (September 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: We had such a wonderful stay at Arethusa Cottages, not only were Paul and Sue (the owners) fantastic hosts but extremely helpful and happy to make recommendations about things to do on the island. We stayed in Woodside Lodge which was really nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and had all the facilities and more that you would hope for in a self catering holiday cottage. The hosts had even left us complimentary milk, locally-made biscuits and little hand gels (especially during these horrible covid times!) and there were plenty of entertainment ideas such as books, boards games and dvds to watch in the evenings. It was lovely sharing a bottle of wine on the large private decking area outside Woodside Lodge in the last of the summer evenings. The grounds of the cottages are beautiful and the photos do not do it justice for how tranquil it truly is. There is a pond area, which is lovely little spot to tuck yourself away with a book and relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings and the pool house is extremely clean and well maintained. Arethusa Cottages are perfect not only for couples but families too as they have all the facilities to cater for all and are conveniently located a short 20 minute walk to Ryde town centre and well positioned for easy access for driving around the island. I couldn’t recommend enough booking a stay at Arethusa Cottages when visiting the Isle of Wight and will definitely be returning in the near future! Charlotte (September 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: My partner and I stayed in Monktonmead Lodge last week. The Lodge , gardens and swimming pool were spotless and Sue and Paul were very helpful in giving advice on places to visit on the Island. Our stay was relaxing which is just what we needed. We especially liked to sit by the pond with a cuppa and book after a day of exploring. We were so pleased that we have booked Oct half term with extended family. Luisa (September 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: The property is wonderful, with peaceful surroundings and the added bonus of a really nice pool that you can actually swim in. The Lodge is comfortable and clean with top class amenities. The proprietors were very welcoming and we felt at home immediately. Thank you for a really nice week. Keir (September 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We stayed at Arethusa at the end of August in the lodge which sleeps 6. It really was the perfect covid getaway. Setting: Amazing! The garden is so beautiful. We loved Ryde and especially Dell Cafe which is near Puckpool park. Pool: Brilliant and very clean, it’s a really good size and made swimming with 3 kids so easy. Accommodation: The lodge was small but perfectly formed. Immaculately presented with a great bathroom. The kids loved sleeping in the eaves. Hosts: Sue and Paul are so lovely, the perfect hosts! Jillian (August 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: A little peace of heaven. The accommodation is beautiful and set in a peaceful garden. The facilities are excellent with access to the pool. Paul and Sue made us feel very welcome. Looking forward to our return. Nicola (September 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: A fabulous place to stay whilst exploring and visiting the IOW. Tucked away to feel like you are miles away but close enough to walk to Ryde. The accommodation has everything you need to make you feel at home with the added bonus of a pool! So good we are booking up for next year!! Katharine (August 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: Really liked this property, great surroundings and in a secluded area which was very peaceful. Great for dog owners too as it is surrounded by a nature reserve. Ellie (August 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had a lovely holiday on the IoW, staying in the delightful, compact Monktonmead lodge. It was great to have use of the beautifully kept gardens, the lovely pond and the fantastic pool. Emma (9) and Megan (7) loved turning the eaves area into their own 'play den'. They especially loved the pool with the inflatables, which they went into every day. Thank you so much Sue and Paul. We will recommend to friends, and hope to return. Rob (August 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Wonderful cottage and hosts who couldn't have been more accommodating. Pool was great for the kids and the idillc location was a great base for us to explore the island. 10/10 Neil (August 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Location good, hosts very friendly and accommodating. Weather was hot but the pool was just outside our lodge which was great and we had it all to ourselves. Only 2 lodges on site so not overrun with other families and was very private. Lots to do on the island, Ryde has a good sandy beach and good pubs quite near. We would recommend the White Hart in Ryde. 5 year old loved Robin Hill. Would definitely stay again and maybe book the second lodge for family/friends. Carol (August 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had an excellent stay at Arethusa Cottage Holiday Lodges. It is a great base to explore the Island and the setting is wonderful, with the added bonus of a pool. Sue and Paul gave us a very warm welcome and were very helpful throughout our stay. Our lodge was clean, comfortable and the little added touches made this an excellent self-catering experience. We will certainly be back! Susan (July 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: We had an excellent time at Arethusa Cottage, myself and my 2 children. The lodge was spacious very clean and had everything we needed. The garden and pond are lovely with regular visits from the Red Squirrels, the Pool is located right next to the Lodge so easily accessed, the Kids really enjoyed their time in the Pool which became a daily activity after we’d been out exploring the island. The pool is spacious and clean, Sue & Paul provided inflatables which the kids had great fun with. Sue and Paul were very friendly and made us feel comfortable as soon as we arrived, they maintained Social Distancing whilst still attending to our needs, they were always looking to improve our stay, providing garden games and advising on places to visit on the island. I would recommend Arethusa Cottage holiday Lodges and would definitely stay again. Their location is ideally located for the ferry and to explore the island, albeit that the island is not that big. Billy (July 2020)

  • Woodside Lodge: We spent a wet weekend in this really spacious and comfortable light lodge with everything you need. The lodge consists of a lounge with tri-fold doors onto a large deck. A good size kitchen with all equipment you need, including a full oven and washing machine. Large shower room and toilet. At the rear a bedroom with a very comfortable double bed. The lodge is within a large very well maintained garden, with a large indoor heated pool at the end of it. The area surrounding the house is a nature reserve so ideal for Annie our dog. One of the highlights was watching all the birds and the red squirrels from the Lodge. Paul and Sue are great hosts, ever ready to make your holiday an enjoyable time. We hope that we will be able to come back, bringing our family and friends with us. Phillipa (February 2020)

  • Monktonmead Lodge: Stayed here on a wet and windy weekend in February, but found a calm sanctuary in the midst of storm Dennis. We were a party of 2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 children staying in monktonmead lodge set in the beautiful grounds of Arethusa cottage. A completely wooden lodge with high beams, a master bedroom, bunk bed room and Eaves Annex sleeping area, perfectly located right next to the heated indoor pool. The teenagers loved the sanctuary of being upstairs in their own ‘den’! While fairly small, the lodge never felt crowded with 6 of us there. The kids spent most of their time in the pool, which has its own changing area, and tables and chairs where I relaxed while watching them play on the many inflatables provided by wonderful hosts Sue and Paul. They even offered to tumble dry our towels for us, and gave the children fish food to feed the huge fish in the gated garden pond. 5* service. We had a key to both the outside gate and the lodge itself, so we could come and go as we pleased. We explored the vineyard next door, and ventured out to Ryde seafront (5 minutes drive) and Shanklin beach and the old town( 20minutes drive). None of us wanted to go home. Will definitely return in the summer. Little slice of heaven. Victoria (February 2020)

HIDE